SIT stands up for diversity

February 28th, 2017   |   SIT Graduate Institute

Photo - World Learning Sign

SIT President Donald Steinberg is among 29 Vermont higher education, business, and political leaders who have signed a statement reiterating Vermont’s values of diversity, equity and inclusiveness. The statement, released Friday, emphasizes Vermont’s commitment to fostering an equitable, diverse, and inclusive society.

Joint Statement in Support of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusiveness Statement

Vermont has fought for centuries for freedom and unity, equity and openness. Vermont remains a beacon of hope and opportunity, community and shared humanity. Vermont was the first to commit to the abolition of slavery in our state constitution and a leader in the fight for marriage equality. We will continue to support all Vermonters and welcome people of all backgrounds to the Green Mountain state.

We, the undersigned, condemn any acts of unlawful discrimination, violence, and intimidation that target differences in national origin, race, sex, gender, religion, disability, or political viewpoint across our nation. Such acts run counter to the rights and freedoms upon which our country was founded and to the core values of the state of Vermont.

Vermont is committed to fostering welcoming communities and an equitable, diverse, and inclusive society.

Governor Peter Shumlin

Governor-elect Phil Scott

Lisa M. Ventriss, President
Vermont Business Roundtable

T. Gregory Dewey, President
Albany College of Pharmacy

Mariko Silver, President
Bennington College

David Wolk, President
Castleton University

Michelle Ollie, President
Center for Cartoon Studies

Don Laackman, President
Champlain College

Lawrence Jensen, Interim President
College of Saint Joseph

Joyce Judy, President
Community College of Vermont

Robert Kenny, President
Goddard College

Robert Allen, President
Green Mountain College

Elaine Collins, President
Johnson State College

Peter Eden, President
Landmark College

Nolan Atkins, Interim President
Lyndon State College

Kevin Quigley, President
Marlboro College

Laurie Patton, President
Middlebury College

Richard Schneider, President
Norwich College

Donald Steinberg, President
School for International Training

David Rees Evans, President
Southern Vermont College

Matthew Derr, President
Sterling College

John Neuhauser, President
Saint Michael’s College

Tom Sullivan, President
University of Vermont

Roger H. Sublett, President
Union Institute and University

Marc B. Mihaly, President and Dean
Vermont Law School

Thomas Greene, President
Vermont College of Fine Arts

Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor
Vermont State Colleges           

Pat Moulton, Interim President
Vermont Technical College

Scott Giles, President & CEO
Vermont Student Assistance Corporation